Author Topic: Waiting for a UDP Packet in Your Sample Code  (Read 2391 times)

Ciaraldi

Waiting for a UDP Packet in Your Sample Code
« on: May 18, 2011, 08:21:32 am »
I have been coding in C and C++ for many years, but mostly on Unix / Linux systems.
I am working now on a project that must be done in Visual C++ 2010, so I went looking on the Web for some sample code to start from. I found your "Sample UDP Client / Server Application"
      http://www.softwareandfinance.com/Visual_CPP/UDP_Client_Server.html
and it works great so far (thanks!), but I have two related questions:

1) The client sends a UDP packet containing text to the server, then waits for the reply. I would like instead to have the client be able to do something else while waiting. So I spawned a thread using a C function which has a loop in it that has the recvfrom() function inside the loop; it receives the packet, processes it, sleeps, and waits for the next packet. So far so good. But to make the reply appear on the screen I needed to pass the data back to the dialog window. So when I spawned the thread I passed it "this", which should be a pointer to the dialog object. The thread stores this pointer as a local variable, then uses that pointer to invoke a member function of the dialog that puts the text into the window and then calls UpdateData(FALSE). When I run this in Debug mode I get an ASSERT failure which says that the program cannot find the handle. If I click Ignore, it continues and does in fact display the text in the reply window. Of course, I do not want to ignore ASSERTS, so can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?
Code snippets are at the end of this message.

2) The server doesn't seem to have this problem. The original has a function f() which looks like this:

static void f(void *p)
{
    ServerDlg *pDlg = reinterpret_cast<ServerDlg*>(p);
    pDlg->ProcessClientRequest(); // This receives the packet and processes it.
}